Sunday : The long run…

It’s time to dust off the training blog, I do believe.  To be honest, I was rather superstitious about it, and though my training has resumed and I’m nearly as fit as I was “before the accident”, I’m still not 100% yet.  I’ve got some big projects lined up for 2011, though, and can’t wait to share them with you!

Because I spent much of the week before last dealing with a nasty cold and only logging about 15mi/24km, this was a lower total-distance week, but with a full-on long run today.  I didn’t do any cross-training/speed work at all this past week, trying to use all available energy on getting this bug out of my system, and I’m happy to say it worked.

Monday : timid 5mi/8km

Tuesday : 7mi/11.2km

Wednesday : off – complete rest

Thursday : 6.3mi/10km

Friday : 8mi/12.87km

Saturday : 4mi/6.4km (This was supposed to be a 6mi/10km day, but commitments got in the way.)

Sunday : 13.6mi/21.8km

Lower over-all distance of 43.9mi/70km – and yes, had I realised it would be 43.9, I would have run the extra .10!

Just a few words about today’s run, because this is the long-run re-cap after all…

I felt great today.  I was a little concerned about the cold, because we’ve had a sudden drop in temps and while 5°c isn’t cold for many, it’s a big jump for me.  I could just feel from the first 10 minutes that it was going to be a great run.

The wonky distance is due to the fact that my Polar (I have a foot-pod, not a GPS) is in the shop for a battery change/maintenance, so I was just going for things by feel.  I had a pretty good idea that I was around a 12mi run, but clearly was a bit over.

I did, however, under-estimate my nutrition as I’d only brought water.  I really started bonking around mile 11, and would have probably been fine with a sports drink rather than just H20.  I think the cold caught me by surprise.

About shellyfish

Part punk-rock, part academic, totally vegan, Shellyfish fights to make the world a more compassionate place, hoping to level the playing field for all. Uniting her background in writing and her firm belief that what and how we consume can make or break civilization and the health of our planet. Constantly striving to be a better human, Shellyfish uses her powers for good and not evil as a lanugage teacher by day (and evening), and she spends her 'copious free time' (note: ironic) running, practicing yoga, and striving to become more accomplished in the vegan kitchen. Always wanting to learn new things (currently I'm trying to learn to knit/crochet/sew), Shellyfish loves without restraint her husband Mr. Fish and her daughter, the Guppy, and they live happily together in France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday : The long run…

  1. Pingback: The Long Run… « Musings From The Fishbowl

  2. Wow! Very cool! I’m super impressed. I run 3 miles and I’m happy! Ha!

  3. Hello there, Sportyfish! You’ve got me thinking I should start my own running blog…perhaps windycityrunner?

Leave a Reply

